Dr Dominic Alonzi

Subject: Biology, Plant Sciences and Zoology

Department: Biochemistry

Background

I read Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry at Corpus Christi, Oxford before reading for a DPhil at Linacre College with Dr Terry Butters and Prof Raymond Dwek, CBE, FRS at the Oxford Glycobiology Institute, Department of Biochemistry.

Teaching and Research Interests

I lecture in Glycobiology to Biochemistry undergraduates and teach a variety of cell biology and biological chemistry topics to biochemistry undergraduates via tutorials: enzymes, drug design, virology, protein structure and function, cell membranes and metabolism. I also tutor the medical and biomedical science students at Magdalen.

My research involves working in the field of glycobiology. Glycobiology has made major contributions to understanding concepts in protein folding, immunology and virology, laying the foundations for applying glycobiology to the development of novel strategies for therapeutics. Inhibitors of the glycosylation pathway can perturb glycan dependent protein folding in the ER with clinically relevant broad-spectrum antiviral properties, with a class of small molecule inhibitors known as iminosugars leading the research in this field. I examine how these small molecule inhibitors can have an affect on a number of cellular targets to enhance and elucidate their therapeutic potential and multiple mechanisms of action.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Dr Gijs van Boxel

Department: Medicine

Email: gijs.vanboxel@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laura Fortunato

Department: Anthropology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Tutor for Equality and Diversity

Read more

Dr Sebastian Fica

Department: Biochemistry

Appointment: Senior Demy

Email: sebastian.fica@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Timothy Barraclough

Department: Zoology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Professor of Zoology

Officer: Garden Master

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Professor Hugh Dickinson

Email: hugh.dickinson@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Andrew Smith

Department: Plant Sciences

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: andrew.smith@plants.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275009

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

Dr Rachel Wheatley

Department: Biological Sciences

Academic position: George Grosvenor Freeman Fellow by Examination

Email: rachel.wheatley@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election and Florey Lecturer

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk