Professor Gero Miesenböck

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

College appointment: Professorial Fellow

Background

Gero Miesenböck is Waynflete Professor of Physiology and Director of the Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour. Gero studied medicine at the University of Innsbruck in his native Austria and did postdoctoral research at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York. He was on the faculty of Yale University before coming to Oxford in 2007.

Research Interests

We study the elementary logic of information processing in the brain. Animals do not employ an endless variety of brain circuits but rather a limited set: circuits that compare signals, apply thresholds, integrate information; oscillators that keep time, buffers that hold the intermediates of computation, memory to write to and read from. We identify these circuits in behavioural tests, delineate their wiring diagrams, and dissect how they work. Much of our research is done in fruit flies, where it is possible to gain detailed insight into molecular, cellular, and physiological mechanisms of brain function that relate directly to human health.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Professor Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Gijs van Boxel

Department: Medicine

Email: gijs.vanboxel@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Dr Rachel Wheatley

Department: Biological Sciences

Academic position: George Grosvenor Freeman Fellow by Examination

Email: rachel.wheatley@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611