The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science, Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

College appointment: Tutorial Fellow, Welfare Dean

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Background

After a BSc in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry at the University of Durham, Robert Gilbert researched for a PhD at Leicester University in the Departments of Biochemistry and Microbiology and Immunology. He came to Oxford as a post-doc in the Division of Structural Biology and in 2002 became Tutor in Biochemistry at Magdalen. He has since held in addition a Royal Society University Research Fellowship (2004-2012) and is now Professor of Biophysics in the Nuffield Department of Medicine and Director of the University’s Medical Sciences Graduate School.

His book “Science and the Truthfulness of Beauty” is published by Routledge.

Teaching

Director of studies in Biochemistry, teaching molecular cell biology in the first year and, for the degree Part I: biomolecular structure and function, biophysical and structural techniques, and aspects of cell biology and metabolic integration. Teaching is also provided to students reading Medicine and Biomedical Sciences.

Research Interests

Structural and biophysical methods applied to biomedically-important cellular processes. One focus is the control of miRNA maturation and degradation in the cell, which has relevance for a broad range of cancers, metabolism, inflammation and innate viral immunity. The other main focuses of the lab are membrane pore formation by proteins of the membrane attack complex/perforin and cholesterol-dependent cytolysin family involved in infection, immunity and development; and the regulation of membrane adhesion to other cells at the extracellular matrix.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Dr Rachel Wheatley

Department: Biological Sciences

Academic position: George Grosvenor Freeman Fellow by Examination

Email: rachel.wheatley@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Gijs van Boxel

Department: Medicine

Email: gijs.vanboxel@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

Dr Sebastian Fica

Department: Biochemistry

Appointment: Senior Demy

Email: sebastian.fica@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Andrew Smith

Department: Plant Sciences

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: andrew.smith@plants.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275009