Dr Lauren Phillips

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Background

Dr Lauren Phillips studied in biological sciences where she became fascinated with the world of genetics and how changes to our DNA can affect our body’s form and function. She gained diverse research experience whilst investigating novel genetic causes of limb girdle muscular dystrophy using whole exome and whole genome sequencing, before securing a PhD studentship to identify novel genetic causes of Congenital Heart Disease and Cardiomyopathies. 

Following the completion of her PhD at Newcastle University in 2021, she joined the Department of Pharmacology at the University of Oxford as a British Heart Foundation funded postdoctoral researcher investigating the mechanism of myoendothelial feedback within the microvasculature in Professor Kim Dora and Professor Christopher Garland’s laboratory. In February 2023, Lauren joined Magdalen College as a Fellow by Examination. 

Research

Lauren is currently researching how angiotensin II (AngII ) contributes towards heart failure and hypertension by characterising its effects within the microvasculature. Her overall aim is to determine how AngII affects form and function of the vasculature, and to identify novel therapeutic targets to reduce the impact of AngII in patients suffering with heart failure and hypertension. 

Department Staff

Read more

Professor John Stein

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more
Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Peter Sullivan

Department: Paediatrics

Email: peter.sullivan@paediatrics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 07825 335477

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Professor Michael Goldacre

Department: Population Health

Email: michael.goldacre@dph.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 289377

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow, Vice President

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Dr Rachel Wheatley

Department: Biological Sciences

Academic position: Senior Demy

Email: rachel.wheatley@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk