Professor Richard Cornall

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Medicine

College appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Background

Richard Cornall grew up on the Isle of Wight and went to state schools there. He studied Natural Sciences at Trinity College Cambridge (MA), and then Clinical Medicine (BM BCh) and Genetics (DPhil) at Balliol College, Oxford. He was a Research Fellow in Immunology at Stanford University, before returning to Oxford as an Honorary Consultant in Renal Medicine and Professor of Immunology at Corpus Christi College. He was appointed Nuffield Professor of Medicine and Head of the Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine in 2019.

Research

Richard Cornall is interested in several aspects of inherited and acquired human disease, genetics, the study of biochemical pathways and pathology at the level of single cells. His research has covered the use of genetic screens and models, the genetics of type 1 diabetes, B cells, immune tolerance and regulation, ageing, cancer susceptibility and inherited forms of human immunodeficiency.

Department Staff

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow, Welfare Dean

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Gijs van Boxel

Department: Medicine

Email: gijs.vanboxel@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk