Professor Peter Sullivan

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Paediatrics

Contact

Phone

07825 335477

Academic Background

Clinical Tutor (Manchester) 1984 -1986; MRC Clinical Research Fellow (Cambridge) 1986-1988; Clinical Lecturer (London) 1989-1992; Senior Lecturer in Paediatrics (Hong Kong) 1992-1994 University Lecturer then Associate Professor in Paediatric Gastroenterology (Oxford) 1994-2019; Emeritus Professor in Paediatric Gastroenterology 2019-present.

I was Director of Teaching, Learning & Assessment in Paediatrics (2007-2019) responsible for development and presentation of Oxford’s undergraduate paediatric course. From 2011-2019, I was Director of Medical Education (Associate Medical Director) for Oxford University Hospitals NHS Trust responsible for the quality assurance of the clinical training of junior doctors. Over this period, I was also Associate Dean (Postgraduate medicine) in the Medical Science Division at the University of Oxford.

I now have a portfolio career as a medico-legal expert in paediatric gastroenterology and hold consultancies with the Bill&Melinda Gates Foundation and Nutricia Advanced Medical Nutrition.

Research Interests

The nutritional and gastrointestinal consequences of brain damage in infants and children and the neurocognitive effects in them of neurotrophic dietary supplementation.

Small intestinal structure and function in children with severe malnutrition and Environmental Enteric Dysfunction.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor John Stein

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Professor Michael Goldacre

Department: Population Health

Email: michael.goldacre@dph.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 289377

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow, Vice President

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Dr Lauren Phillips

Department: Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: lauren.phillips@pharm.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454