Professor Stephen Goodwin

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

College appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Contact

Background

Stephen studied genetics as an undergraduate at the University of Glasgow, and researched Drosophila learning and memory for his Ph.D. After a postdoctoral stint with Nobel laureate Jeffrey C. Hall at Brandeis University (USA), where he used molecular-genetic and behavioural approaches in the fruit fly to understand how the sexual identity of a nervous system and its behaviours are specified, he returned to the UK and spent 10 years leading a research group at the University of Glasgow. He arrived in Oxford in 2009, where he is a Professor of Neurogenetics, a Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator, and a Tutorial Fellow in Genetics at Magdalen College. He is part of the Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour along with the groups of Gero Miesenböck and Scott Waddell.

Teaching

Neuroscience, Genetics, and Physiology. Courses: Medicine (First BM parts 1 & 2), Biomedical Sciences (BMS Yr 1 & Neuroscience, Genetics, and Physiology. Courses: Medicine (First BM parts 1 & 2), Biomedical Sciences (BMS Yr 1 & 2), Biological Sciences (Yr1), and FHS (Yr 3) in Medical Sciences, Biomedical Sciences. Postgraduate taught: MSc in Neuroscience.

Research Interests

We are interested in the genetic, developmental, and neural mechanisms that underlie sex-specific behaviours.

Recent Publications

Department Staff

Read more
Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Dr Frances Colles

Department: Biology

Appointment: Stipendiary Lecturer

Academic position: Lecturer I in Biological Sciences

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Tin Hang (Henry) Hung

Department: Biology

Academic position: Lecturer I in Biology

Email: tin-hang.hung@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Andrew Smith

Department: Biology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: andrew.smith@biology.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275009

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Lydia France

Department: Biology

Academic position: Lecturer I

Email: lydia.france@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Dr Lauren Phillips

Department: Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: lauren.phillips@pharm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rachel Wheatley

Department: Biological Sciences

Academic position: Senior Demy

Email: rachel.wheatley@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Zhe (Luke) Ji

Academic position: Calleva Postdoctoral Researcher

Email: zhe.ji@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow, Vice President

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

Professor Peter Sullivan

Department: Paediatrics

Email: peter.sullivan@paediatrics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 07825 335477

Read more

Professor Lars Østergaard

Department: Biology

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Sherardian Professor of Botany

Email: lars.ostergaard@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor John Stein

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor Laura Fortunato

Department: Anthropology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Tutor for Equality and Diversity

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more
Professor Tim Barraclough

Professor Timothy Barraclough

Department: Biology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Professor of Zoology

Officer: Garden Master

Read more

Professor Hugh Dickinson

Email: hugh.dickinson@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Michael Goldacre

Department: Population Health

Email: michael.goldacre@dph.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 289377