Professor Stephen Goodwin

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

College appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Contact

Background

Stephen was educated at Methodist College Belfast. He received his BSc, and PhD from the University of Glasgow. After his PhD, he had a Postdoctoral fellowship with Professor Jeff Hall at Brandeis University. At the end of 1999 Stephen was educated at Methodist College Belfast. He received his BSc, and PhD from the University of Glasgow. After his PhD, he had a Postdoctoral fellowship with Noble laureate Professor Jeff Hall at Brandeis University. At the end of 1999 Stephen returned to the UK as a Senior Lecturer at the University of Glasgow. He arrived in Oxford in 2009, where he is a Professor of Neurogenetics, and a Wellcome Trust Senior Investigator in the Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour.

Teaching

Neuroscience, Genetics, and Physiology. Courses: Medicine (First BM parts 1 & 2), Biomedical Sciences (BMS Yr 1 & Neuroscience, Genetics, and Physiology. Courses: Medicine (First BM parts 1 & 2), Biomedical Sciences (BMS Yr 1 & 2), Biological Sciences (Yr1), and FHS (Yr 3) in Medical Sciences, Biomedical Sciences. Postgraduate taught: MSc in Neuroscience.

Research Interests

We are interested in the genetic, developmental, and neural mechanisms that underlie sex-specific behaviours.

Recent Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Hugh Dickinson

Email: hugh.dickinson@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laura Fortunato

Department: Anthropology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Tutor for Equality and Diversity

Read more

Dr Gijs van Boxel

Department: Medicine

Email: gijs.vanboxel@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Tin Hang (Henry) Hung

Department: Biology

Academic position: Lecturer I in Biology

Email: tin-hang.hung@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Lydia France

Department: Biology

Academic position: Lecturer I

Email: lydia.france@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Emily Stevens

Department: Biology

Academic position: Lecturer I in Biology

Email: emily.stevens@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Professor Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Professor Tim Barraclough

Professor Timothy Barraclough

Department: Zoology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Professor of Zoology

Officer: Garden Master

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rachel Wheatley

Department: Biological Sciences

Academic position: George Grosvenor Freeman Fellow by Examination

Email: rachel.wheatley@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Professor Andrew Smith

Department: Plant Sciences

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: andrew.smith@plants.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275009