Professor Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Subject: Biology, Plant Sciences and Zoology, Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Pharmacology

College appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Background

I am a Tutorial Fellow in Medicine and Biomedical Science and in the university Professor of Vascular Pharmacology, where I run a research group in the Department of Pharmacology on Mansfield Road. Since 2013 I have also been a Visiting Professor at the University of Queensland, Australia. Previously, I was Head of Pharmacology (established chair) at the University of Bath and before that Reader then Professor of Cardiovascular Pharmacology, University of Bristol. I have held visiting Professorships at the University of Bath (2008-12), University of Nagoya, Japan (2011), Monash University, Australia (2000-2003) and the National Academy of Sciences, Taiwan (2003) and served as Vice-President of the British Pharmacological Society, on the council of the Royal Society of Biology, and as a member of grant panels for the Wellcome Trust, British Heart Foundation and the Medical Research Council. In 2009, I was awarded the British Pharmacological Society JR Vane Medal, recognizing outstanding research achievements in vascular pharmacology.

Undergraduate Teaching

At Magdalen, I teach Physiology and Pharmacology to medical and biomedical science students.

Research Interests

My research investigates the cellular signalling mechanisms controlling the smallest arteries in the body, hair-like structures that determine the pressure and flow of blood. The research aims to understand how these minute vessels are affected by disease that leads to stroke and myocardial ischaemia/infarction (heart attack).

Selected Recent Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Dr Rachel Wheatley

Department: Biological Sciences

Academic position: George Grosvenor Freeman Fellow by Examination

Email: rachel.wheatley@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Andrew Smith

Department: Plant Sciences

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: andrew.smith@plants.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275009

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Dr Sebastian Fica

Department: Biochemistry

Appointment: Senior Demy

Email: sebastian.fica@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Gijs van Boxel

Department: Medicine

Email: gijs.vanboxel@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611