Professor Andrew Smith

Subject: Biology

Department: Biology

College appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Contact

Phone

01865 275009

Background

M.A. (Cambridge); Ph.D. (Glasgow); Habilitation (Darmstadt).
After reading Natural Sciences at the University of Cambridge and doing postgraduate research for my PhD at the University of Glasgow, I spent 7 years as a postdoctoral researcher at the Technische Universität in Darmstadt (Germany). I then held an appointment for 5 years as a lecturer at the University of Edinburgh before moving to my present position in Oxford.

Teaching

I lecture in the following courses:

I give tutorials in first-year Organisms and Cells & Genes, and in several themes and modules in the Final Honour School related to my research interests.

Research Interests

Cellular and molecular basis of plant adaptations to environmental stress, in particular water deficits, salinity and toxic metals. Evolutionary origins of complex physiological traits in plants.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Dr Tin Hang (Henry) Hung

Department: Biology

Academic position: Lecturer I in Biology

Email: tin-hang.hung@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Professor Hugh Dickinson

Email: hugh.dickinson@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Lydia France

Department: Biology

Academic position: Lecturer I

Email: lydia.france@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Professor Tim Barraclough

Professor Timothy Barraclough

Department: Biology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Professor of Zoology

Officer: Garden Master

Read more

Dr Zhe (Luke) Ji

Academic position: Calleva Postdoctoral Researcher

Email: zhe.ji@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Frances Colles

Department: Biology

Appointment: Stipendiary Lecturer

Academic position: Lecturer I in Biological Sciences

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow, Vice President

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Professor Lars Østergaard

Department: Biology

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Sherardian Professor of Botany

Email: lars.ostergaard@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laura Fortunato

Department: Anthropology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Tutor for Equality and Diversity

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Dr Sebastian Fica

Department: Biochemistry

Appointment: Senior Demy

Email: sebastian.fica@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk