Professor Michael Goldacre

Department: Population Health

Background

Educated Bec School, London; Magdalen College, Oxford; University College Medical School, London. After qualifying in medicine, and working in several hospital posts, I undertook an MSc in social medicine at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine and started a career in public health. As an Oxford academic, I was a clinical lecturer in social and community medicine, reader in public health, and then a professor of public health in the university Department of Public Health. Like most UK clinical academics, I had joint appointments with the NHS, and was an NHS Consultant in Public Health. I became a Fellow of Magdalen in 1985; was Tutor for Graduates, 1993-95; Dean of Degrees, 1993-2011.
In the Oxford medical school, I taught public health, epidemiology and health services management to clinical medical students throughout my career. For several years, I organised and taught on a Health and Disease module for the FHS Human Sciences. I taught, and supervised, students on the University’s MSc in Global Health; and I supervised doctoral students. I work currently as an emeritus professor in the Big Data Institute, Nuffield Department of Population Health. I have published over 400 research papers, listed in PubMed at http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/?term=goldacre+m One broad area of my research has been the use of anonymised electronic hospital records in epidemiological and health services studies. I directed the Unit of Health-Care Epidemiology which built and researched ‘Big Data’ hospital databases covering records from the 1960s to the present.

Selected recent publications:

Another main area of work has been the study of doctors’ careers. The rationale for this is that, in any health system, the most important asset is its skilled workforce, and workforce planning is fundamental to health-care planning. At best, this needs to be guided by knowledge about doctors’ career intentions, career trajectories, and their views about working in medicine. I directed the UK Medical Careers Research Group, a UK-wide series of cohort studies that has tracked the careers of about 80,000 doctors in qualification years ranging from 1974-2015. The studies of careers, though specifically about doctors, also provide insights into work-related aspects of modern professional life more generally.

Selected publications:

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Elizabeth Fricker

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: lizzie.fricker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Sheppard

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Dr Ralph Walker

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Officer: Wine Steward

Email: ralph.walker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276073

Read more

Professor Vernon Reynolds

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Anthropology

Email: vreynolds@btopenworld.com

Tel: 01323 871136

Read more

Professor Hugh Dickinson

Email: hugh.dickinson@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laurence Dreyfus

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Dr Bill Ives

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Organist and Informator Choristarum

Email: bill.ives@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01799 599 443

Read more

Professor Peter Sullivan

Department: Paediatrics

Email: peter.sullivan@paediatrics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 07825 335477

Read more

Professor Clive Holes

Department: Oriental Institute

Email: clive.holes@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Juan-Carlos Conde

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages (Spanish)

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: juan-carlos.conde@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Oege de Moor

Department: Computer Science

Email: oege.demoor@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Roger Heath-Brown FRS

Department: Mathematical Institute

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: rhb@maths.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 361821

Read more

Dr Dusan Radojicic

Department: Physics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: d.radojicic1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44-(0)1865-276000

Read more

Professor Colin Bain

Email: c.d.bain@durham.ac.uk

Tel: 0191 3342138

Read more

Dr Bojan Bujic

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: bojan.bujic@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laurie Maguire

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurie.maguire@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276013

Read more

Professor Martin McLaughlin

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: martin.mclaughlin@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laurence Brockliss

Department: Modern History

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurence.brockliss@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor David Norbrook

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: david.norbrook@ell.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor John Stein

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Dr George Milligan

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: george.milligan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Daniel Kroening

Read more

Dr Christine Ferdinand

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: christine.ferdinand@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)1865 276057

Read more

Mr Andrea Boltho

Department: Department of Economics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Director of Oxford Economics

Email: andrea.boltho@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Oliver Taplin

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: oliver.taplin@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Felix Budelmann

Department: Classics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: felix.budelmann@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276069

Read more
Lord Wood

Lord Wood of Anfield

Read more

Dr Stephen Ashcroft

Email: steve.ashcroft@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr David Roberts

Read more

Professor Toby Garfitt

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: toby.garfitt@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Mark Blandford-Baker

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: mark.blandford-baker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Andrew Weller

Department: Chemistry

Email: andrew.weller@chem.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 286681

Read more

Dr Michael Allingham

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: michael.allingham@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Robin Dunbar

Department: Experimental Psychology

Email: robin.dunbar@psy.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr John Fuller

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: john.fuller@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865-556154

Read more

The Revd Dr Michael Piret

Email: michael.piret@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Prof Christopher Peacocke

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: cp2161@columbia.edu

Read more

Professor Liam Dolan

Department: Botany

Email: liam.dolan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275147

Read more

Mr Bill Johnson

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow