Professor Quentin Sattentau

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Pathology

College appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Background

I’m a Londoner who did a BSc in microbiology at Bristol University and a PhD at The Royal London Hospital Medical School, Whitechapel. After some postdoctoral time in London I moved to the laboratory of Richard Axel in New York, then to a tenured post in Marseille. Seven years later I returned to a Senior Lecturer post at Imperial College London, and in 2003 took up a lectureship in the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology and associated fellowship at Magdalen College. I live with my family on an island in the West Oxford floodplain.

Teaching

My teaching to medical and biomedical science students covers aspects of infection and immunity, with emphasis on host-pathogen interactions and immune responses. I specialise in teaching HIV and AIDS to the FHS medical and biomedical sciences undergraduates and Immunology MSc students.

Research Interests

My research over the past 35 years has focussed primarily on cellular and molecular aspects of HIV-1 replication and pathogenesis. More recently we have harnessed chemistry to design vaccines to raise neutralizing antibodies to HIV-1. We are also interested more broadly in how immune responses are initiated, how this might inform vaccine design, and how this might lead to unwanted immune responses such as autoimmunity.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Andrew Smith

Department: Plant Sciences

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: andrew.smith@plants.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275009

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Dr Gijs van Boxel

Department: Medicine

Email: gijs.vanboxel@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Sebastian Fica

Department: Biochemistry

Appointment: Senior Demy

Email: sebastian.fica@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Professor Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rachel Wheatley

Department: Biological Sciences

Academic position: George Grosvenor Freeman Fellow by Examination

Email: rachel.wheatley@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611