Dr Rebecca Shakir

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Background

Dr Rebecca Shakir obtained her medical degree at Imperial College School of Medicine, London. She trained in Clinical Oncology in Oxford, and is nearing completion of a DPhil at Green Templeton College, Oxford. She is a Clinical Oncology SpR at Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust. In her role as Sherrington Lecturer she has organisational responsibility for the clinical medical students at Magdalen college.

Research

Dr Shakir joined the Clinical Trials Service Unit at the Nuffield Department of Population Health, Oxford, to undertake a dedicated period of research within Professor Sarah Darby’s group, under the supervision of Dr David Cutter. Her research is focused on determining the benefits and risks of radiotherapy used after chemotherapy for Hodgkin lymphoma. Dr Shakir is funded by an NIHR Doctoral Research Fellowship.

Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more
Professor Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Dr Gijs van Boxel

Department: Medicine

Email: gijs.vanboxel@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070