Professor John Stein

College appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Professor John Stein read Animal Physiology at New College, Oxford, then an MSc in Neural Control of Respiration in the University Laboratory of Physiology, Oxford, then clinical medicine at St Thomas’s Hospital, London. He then started training in Neurology, continuing in London, Leicester and Oxford. He was appointed tutor in Medicine at Magdalen College, Oxford, in 1970 and retired from that post in 2008, but still continues some teaching for Magdalen and Balliol Colleges, some lecturing and research projects in deep brain stimulation, dyslexia and the role of long chain omega3 fatty acids in optimal brain function.

His research all derives from an initial interest in the visual guidance of movement in computer models, animals, neurological patients and dyslexic children sparked by discovering with Prof Mitchel Glickstein (now at UCL) the magnocellular visual projection from visual cortex to the cerebellum. With Mitch, Prof Alan Gibson, (Barrow Neurological Inst. Phoenix) and Prof Chris Miall (Birmingham U.) he studied the roles of the cerebellum, basal ganglia and brainstem in motor control. With Tipu Aziz, neurosurgeon, he showed that deep brain stimulation (DBS) relieves both akinesia and dyskinesias in Parkinson’s disease by preventing spontaneous oscillations of a brainstem motor network centred on the globus pallidus and pedunculopontine nucleus (PPN). Likewise they found that spontaneous oscillations of the pain matrix are what seem to cause central neuropathic pain, and that eliminating these by DBS can alleviate the pain. Dr Sue Fowler (U. Reading) showed him that like many children with cerebellar lesions, many dyslexic children have unstable eye control that causes their reading problems. They showed that this is often due to impaired development of visual magnocellular neurones, which impacts on attentional and eye control in these dyslexics; and he has shown that simple visual treatments such as viewing text through yellow or blue filters can often dramatically improve their reading. Since magnocellular neurones are highly vulnerable to lack of long chain omega-3 fatty acids, he also found that fish oil supplements can often improve their function and greatly improve attention, social interactions, behaviour and reading progress, not only in dyslexic children, but also in young offenders.. He doesn’t cook fish and his younger brother, famous TV fish chef, Rick Stein, does not do neuroscience!

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Laurence Brockliss

Department: Modern History

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurence.brockliss@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Colin Bain

Email: c.d.bain@durham.ac.uk

Tel: 0191 3342138

Read more

Professor Clive Holes

Department: Oriental Institute

Email: clive.holes@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Andrea Boltho

Department: Department of Economics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Director of Oxford Economics

Email: andrea.boltho@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Bill Ives

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Organist and Informator Choristarum

Email: bill.ives@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01799 599 443

Read more

Professor Hugh Dickinson

Email: hugh.dickinson@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Peter Sullivan

Department: Paediatrics

Email: peter.sullivan@paediatrics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 07825 335477

Read more

Professor Roger Heath-Brown FRS

Department: Mathematical Institute

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: rhb@maths.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 361821

Read more

Professor Oege de Moor

Department: Computer Science

Email: oege.demoor@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dusan Radojicic

Department: Physics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: d.radojicic1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44-(0)1865-276000

Read more

Professor Michael Goldacre

Department: Population Health

Email: michael.goldacre@dph.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 289377

Read more

Professor Richard Sheppard

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

The Revd Dr Michael Piret

Email: michael.piret@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Daniel Kroening

Read more

Professor Juan-Carlos Conde

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages (Spanish)

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: juan-carlos.conde@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr John Fuller

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: john.fuller@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865-556154

Read more

Dr David Roberts

Read more

Dr Bojan Bujic

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: bojan.bujic@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Oliver Taplin

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: oliver.taplin@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Mark Blandford-Baker

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: mark.blandford-baker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Andrew Weller

Department: Chemistry

Email: andrew.weller@chem.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 286681

Read more

Professor Martin McLaughlin

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: martin.mclaughlin@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr George Milligan

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: george.milligan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Christine Ferdinand

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: christine.ferdinand@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)1865 276057

Read more

Professor Laurence Dreyfus

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor David Norbrook

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: david.norbrook@ell.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Robin Dunbar

Department: Experimental Psychology

Email: robin.dunbar@psy.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Bill Johnson

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor Laurie Maguire

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurie.maguire@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276013

Read more

Prof Christopher Peacocke

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: cp2161@columbia.edu

Read more

Dr Ralph Walker

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Officer: Wine Steward

Email: ralph.walker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276073

Read more

Professor Liam Dolan

Department: Botany

Email: liam.dolan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275147

Read more

Dr Michael Allingham

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: michael.allingham@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Toby Garfitt

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: toby.garfitt@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Lord Wood

Lord Wood of Anfield

Read more

Professor Felix Budelmann

Department: Classics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: felix.budelmann@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276069

Read more

Dr Stephen Ashcroft

Email: steve.ashcroft@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Elizabeth Fricker

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: lizzie.fricker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Vernon Reynolds

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Anthropology

Email: vreynolds@btopenworld.com

Tel: 01323 871136