Professor Laura Fortunato

Subject: Anthropology, Biology, Plant Sciences and Zoology, Human Sciences

Department: Anthropology

College appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Tutor for Equality and Diversity

Background

I am an evolutionary anthropologist with training in both biology and anthropology, and with a strong commitment to interdisciplinary scholarship. My formal training includes a 5-year Laurea in biological sciences from the University of Padova (2003) and graduate degrees (MRes and PhD) in anthropology from University College London (2004 and 2009). Between 2010 and 2013 I held an Omidyar Fellowship at the Santa Fe Institute, an independent research centre that brings together scientists from across the natural, social, and historical sciences. I joined the University of Oxford in 2013, as University Lecturer in Evolutionary Anthropology and Tutorial Fellow at Magdalen College.

Teaching

Human Sciences

Research

My research aims to understand the evolution of human social and cultural behavior. Among other topics, I focus on questions relating to the evolution of kinship and marriage systems, culture, and social complexity.

Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Robin Dunbar

Department: Experimental Psychology

Email: robin.dunbar@psy.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Clare Harris FBA

Department: Anthropology and the Pitt Rivers Museum

Academic position: Tutorial Fellow

Email: clare.harris@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276077

Read more

Dr Adam Kenny

Department: Anthropology

Academic position: Calleva Research Centre Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: adam.kenny@anthro.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Michael Leadbetter

Department: Archaeology

Academic position: Lecturer II in Archaeology

Email: michael.leadbetter@queens.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Professor Harvey Whitehouse

Department: Anthropology

Academic position: Professorial Fellow

Email: harvey.whitehouse@anthro.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Lydia France

Department: Biology

Academic position: Lecturer I

Email: lydia.france@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Vernon Reynolds

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Anthropology

Email: vreynolds@btopenworld.com

Tel: 01323 871136

Read more

Dr Alfonso Moreno

Department: Classics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Chair of Library and Archives Committee

Email: alfonso.moreno@classics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276014

Read more
Professor Tim Barraclough

Professor Timothy Barraclough

Department: Zoology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Professor of Zoology

Officer: Garden Master

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Emily Stevens

Department: Biology

Academic position: Lecturer I in Biology

Email: emily.stevens@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Hugh Dickinson

Email: hugh.dickinson@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Andrew Smith

Department: Plant Sciences

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: andrew.smith@plants.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275009

Read more

Dr Tin Hang (Henry) Hung

Department: Biology

Academic position: Lecturer I in Biology

Email: tin-hang.hung@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Neil Armstrong

Department: Anthropology

Academic position: Stipendiary Lecturer in Social and Cultural Anthropology

Email: neil.armstrong@anthro.ox.ac.uk