Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Paediatrics

College appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Background

Maheshi received her undergraduate medical training at Christ’s College, Cambridge. She subsequently trained as a junior doctor in Infectious Diseases and General Internal Medicine in Oxford, London and Australia and obtained a DPhil from Wadham College, Oxford. She is a Consultant Physician at Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and the Deputy Director of the Graduate Entry Medicine course at Oxford. In her role as Florey Lecturer, Maheshi acts as the Lead Tutor for Graduate medical students at Magdalen College with overall responsibility for admissions, teaching and pastoral support of students. She has been a Fellow by Special Election at Magdalen since 2020.

Research

As a clinician scientist based at the Oxford Vaccine Group, Maheshi’s research interest is in adaptive immune responses to vaccines. She leads on early and late phase clinical trials in healthy adults with a particular focus on enteric infections. Since 2020, Maheshi has been Principal Investigator for the Oxford/AZ COVID-19 vaccine trials, which have led to the deployment of over 2 billion doses of this vaccine globally. 

Selected publications:

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Peter Sullivan

Department: Paediatrics

Email: peter.sullivan@paediatrics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 07825 335477

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Dr Lauren Phillips

Department: Medicine and Biomedical Sciences

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: lauren.phillips@pharm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

Professor John Stein

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Gijs van Boxel

Department: Medicine

Email: gijs.vanboxel@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Michael Goldacre

Department: Population Health

Email: michael.goldacre@dph.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 289377

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Senior Demy

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more
Professor Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow