Dr Ralph Walker

Subject: Philosophy, Politics

Department: Philosophy

College appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Officer: Wine Steward

Contact

Phone

01865 276073

Background

I was educated at Aberdeen Grammar School, and then in Canada at Selwyn House School and Trinity College School. I did my BA at McGill University in 1964, and came to Oxford in that year as a Rhodes Scholar. At Balliol I studied for the B.Phil. and the D.Phil. in Philosophy, and was a Junior Research Fellow at Merton from 1968 to 1972, when I came to Magdalen as a Fellow and Tutor. I held that post until I retired in 2011. During that time I also taught for short periods in other countries, including Uganda, Brazil, Poland and (particularly) Czechoslovakia: I was on the Management Committee of the Jan Hus Educational Foundation, concerned with higher education in Czechoslovakia, from 1982.

Teaching

Despite retirement I currently teach undergraduates (primarily at Magdalen) for History of Philosophy, Kant, Ethics, Philosophy of Religion, Plato’s Republic and Aristotle’s Ethics. I also take part in teaching the first-year first-year introductions to philosophy, and like to do some graduate teaching on Kant.

Research Interests

Kant; Ethics; Philosophy of Religion; Truth and Justification of Beliefs.

I have held a number of University offices, including: Junior Proctor, 1984-5; Chairman of the General Board 1999-2000; Head of the Humanities Division, 2000-2006; Delegate of Oxford University Press 1993-2003. I was Vice-President of Magdalen in 2008 and 2009.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Robert Douglas-Fairhurst

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: robert.douglas-fairhurst@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Alfonso Moreno

Department: Classics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Chair of Library and Archives Committee

Email: alfonso.moreno@classics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276014

Read more

Professor Bernhard Salow

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow in Philosophy

Officer: Clerk to the College

Email: bernhard.salow@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Bogdan Popescu

Department: Politics

Academic position: Special Lecturer in Politics

Email: bogdan.popescu@politics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Thomas Norman

Department: Economics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Tutor for Graduate Admissions

Email: thomas.norman@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276034

Read more

Professor Paul Elbourne

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow in Philosophy

Academic position: Professor of the Philosophy of Language

Officer: Clerk to the College

Email: paul.elbourne@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Enrico Emanuele Prodi

Department: Classics

Email: enrico.prodi@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Prof Christopher Peacocke

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: cp2161@columbia.edu

Read more

Dr Laura Swift

Department: Classics

Academic position: Tutorial Fellow

Email: laura.swift@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Ofra Magidor

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Waynflete Professor of Metaphysical Philosophy

Email: ofra.magidor@philosophy.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 610351

Read more

Professor Paul Billingham

Department: Politics and International Relations

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Associate Professor of Political Theory

Email: paul.billingham@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276015

Read more

Professor Felix Budelmann

Department: Classics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: felix.budelmann@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276069

Read more

Mr Andrea Boltho

Department: Department of Economics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Director of Oxford Economics

Email: andrea.boltho@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Jane Gingrich

Department: Politics and International Relations

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: jane.gingrich@politics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Jennifer Castle

Department: Economics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: jennifer.castle@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276067

Read more

Dr Mark Pobjoy

Department: Classics

Appointment: Official Fellow

Officer: Senior Tutor, Tutor for Graduates, Disability Lead Officer and Freedom of Information Officer

Email: mark.pobjoy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276000

Read more

Professor Oliver Taplin

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: oliver.taplin@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Antony Smith

Department: Classics

Appointment: Lecturer