Professor Robert Douglas-Fairhurst

Subject: English

Department: English Language and Literature

College appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Background

Pembroke College, Cambridge: BA (1990), MA (1994), PhD (1998); Procter Visiting Fellow, Princeton University, 1991-1992; Junior Research Fellow, Fitzwilliam College, Cambridge, 1995-1996; Fellow and Tutor, Emmanuel College, Cambridge, 1996-2002; Fellow and Tutor, Magdalen College, Oxford, 2002-present. In 2015 I was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Teaching

Most of my teaching is in the period 1700-present; this means that I teach Victorian and Modern Literature in the first year of the undergraduate course (together with literary theory and practical criticism), Romantic period literature in the second year, and a number of special options in the final year.

Research Interests

I have published widely in the field of nineteenth-century literature. Becoming Dickens: The Invention of a Novelist (Harvard University Press, 2011), was featured on ‘The Review Show’ (BBC2), and won the 2012 Duff Cooper Prize; it was also selected as a book of the year in the Irish Times, Library Journal, New Statesman, Sunday Times, Daily Telegraph, TLS, and Wall Street Journal, and was an Editor’s Choice in the New York Times. The Story of Alice: Lewis Carroll and the Secret History of Wonderland (Harvill Secker; Harvard University Press, 2015) was featured on Start the Week (BBC R4) and BBC1 Breakfast, and serialised as Book of the Week on BBC R4 read by Simon Russell Beale; it was shortlisted for the Costa Prize in 2015. The Turning Point: A Year that Changed Dickens and the World (Jonathan Cape, 2021; Alfred A. Knopf, 2022) was selected as a book of the year in the Times, Financial Times, Spectator, and New Statesman. My new book Metamorphosis: A Life in Pieces will be published by Jonathan Cape in 2023. TV and radio work includes ‘Mrs Dickens’s Family Christmas’ (BBC1), ‘Lingua Franca’ (ABC Radio National Australia), ‘The Charlie Rose Show’ (PBS) and ‘Queen Victoria’s Children’ (BBC2). I write regularly on books and film for the Times, Spectator, Literary Review, Guardian, and TLS; other essays and reviews have appeared in publications including the Daily Telegraph, Prospect, and Vogue. In the past I have worked as a consultant on BBC adaptations of Jane Eyre (2006), Emma (2009), and Great Expectations (2011); in 2015-16 I worked on the 20-part BBC1/Red Planet series Dickensian; in 2019 I was an advisor on the feature film Enola Holmes, and in 2022 I worked on the sequel Enola Holmes 2.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Professor David Norbrook

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: david.norbrook@ell.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rafael J. Pascual

Department: English

Academic position: Lecturer in Old and Middle English

Email: rafael.pascual@ell.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Ralph Walker

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Officer: Wine Steward

Email: ralph.walker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276073

Read more

Dr Antony Smith

Department: Classics

Appointment: Lecturer

Read more

Professor Simon Horobin

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Senior Dean of Arts

Email: simon.horobin@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276090

Read more

Dr Alfonso Moreno

Department: Classics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Chair of Library and Archives Committee

Email: alfonso.moreno@classics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276014

Read more

Professor Oliver Taplin

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: oliver.taplin@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Enrico Emanuele Prodi

Department: Classics

Email: enrico.prodi@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Felix Budelmann

Department: Classics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: felix.budelmann@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276069

Read more

Professor Laurie Maguire

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurie.maguire@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276013

Read more

Dr Sophie Duncan

Appointment: Dean for Welfare

Academic position: Research Fellow

Email: sophie.duncan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Kate Bennett

Department: English Language and Literature

Academic position: Lecturer

Email: kate.bennett@magd.ox.ac.uk