Dr Alfonso Moreno

Subject: Anthropology, Classics, Ancient History and Archaeology

Department: Classics

College appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Chair of Library and Archives Committee

Contact

Phone

01865 276014

Background

I grew up in Colombia, but my first contact with Latin and Greek was in secondary school in the US, at Phillips Exeter Academy. Spending the summer before university backpacking around Greece and Turkey impressed me indelibly. It pushed me to get a BA in Classics at Harvard, where I was taught by Ernst Badian and so began to gravitate towards ancient history. For some years I took a detour into law, receiving a JD from Georgetown and joining the New York Bar. In 1998, finding that the Internal Revenue Code could not push the Mediterranean out of my head, I came to Oxford (Balliol College), and wrote my DPhil thesis under Oswyn Murray. I have been lucky to work on topics that require wide travel, from Athens to the Black Sea, and interaction with archaeologist colleagues. My present focus on aerial photography as a source for ancient history (see below), has led to an interest in photography generally. I came to Magdalen in 2003, after brief stops at the Universidad Nacional in Bogotá, Balliol and St. John’s Colleges, Oxford, and Royal Holloway College, University of London.

Teaching

I cover virtually all papers in Greek and Roman history for Classical Archaeology and Ancient History (CAAH); Ancient and Modern History (AMH); and Classics (Literae Humaniores). I am the senior (organizing) tutor for CAAH and (jointly) for AMH. Please contact me if you have any questions on these courses in particular and on the study of ancient history at Magdalen generally.

Research Interests

My main research interest is in the interplay of politics and the economy in Classical Athens. I am currently working on World War II aerial photography as a source for Athenian topography, settlement, and trade.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Michael Leadbetter

Department: Archaeology

Academic position: Lecturer II in Archaeology

Email: michael.leadbetter@queens.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Adam Kenny

Department: Anthropology

Academic position: Calleva Research Centre Postdoctoral Research Associate

Email: adam.kenny@anthro.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Harvey Whitehouse

Department: Anthropology

Academic position: Professorial Fellow

Email: harvey.whitehouse@anthro.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Mark Pobjoy

Department: Classics

Appointment: Official Fellow

Officer: Senior Tutor, Tutor for Graduates, Disability Lead Officer and Freedom of Information Officer

Email: mark.pobjoy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276000

Read more

Dr Ralph Walker

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Officer: Wine Steward

Email: ralph.walker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276073

Read more

Professor Oliver Taplin

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: oliver.taplin@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Vernon Reynolds

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Anthropology

Email: vreynolds@btopenworld.com

Tel: 01323 871136

Read more

Professor Robert Douglas-Fairhurst

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: robert.douglas-fairhurst@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Clare Harris FBA

Department: Anthropology and the Pitt Rivers Museum

Academic position: Tutorial Fellow

Email: clare.harris@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276077

Read more

Dr Neil Armstrong

Department: Anthropology

Academic position: Stipendiary Lecturer in Social and Cultural Anthropology

Email: neil.armstrong@anthro.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Enrico Emanuele Prodi

Department: Classics

Email: enrico.prodi@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Antony Smith

Department: Classics

Appointment: Lecturer

Read more

Mr Vittorio Danovi

Department: Classics

Academic position: Lecturer II in Classics

Email: vittorio.danovi@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Felix Budelmann

Department: Classics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: felix.budelmann@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276069

Read more

Professor Laura Fortunato

Department: Anthropology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Tutor for Equality and Diversity

Read more

Professor Robin Dunbar

Department: Experimental Psychology

Email: robin.dunbar@psy.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Laura Swift

Department: Classics

Academic position: Tutorial Fellow

Email: laura.swift@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Marco Santini

Department: Classics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: marco.santini@magd.ox.ac.uk