Professor John Gregg

Subject: Physics

Department: Physics

College appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Contact

Phone

+44-(0)1865-276000

Background

Professor Gregg obtained a D Phil in nuclear magnetism of Van Vleck systems under the guidance of B. Bleaney and F. N. H. Robinson and made the first observation of Enhanced Nuclear Acoustic Resonance. Later he worked as a Collaborateur Etranger in Commissariat a l’Energie Atomique Francais, preparing and studying ordered nuclear states in the research team of A. Abragam. As a Royal Society Research Fellow he made the first microwave acoustic interferometry study of the dynamics of time-reversed metastable antiferromagnetic states. In Spintronics, he made the first observation of Giant Magnetoresistance (GMR) of a mechanical alloy, the first observation of Giant Thermal Magnetoresistance and he first proposed and confirmed experimentally a new spin-dependent model for the electrical resistance of a ferromagnetic domain wall. He has held Visiting Professorships in Strasbourg, Paris and Dublin. He holds 19 patents and he has acted on four occasions as an expert witness in the British courts in both Spintronics and Nuclear Quadrupole Resonance and in the European Patent Court as an expert on analogue electronic instrumentation. He is the Academic Founder of an Oxford University spinout company.

Teaching

Professor Gregg teaches Condensed Matter Physics, Quantum Mechanics, Atomic Physics, Photonics and Laser Physics, Mathematics for Physicists, Thermodynamics, Statistical Mechanics, Kinetic Theory, Geometrical and Wave Optics, Electromagnetism, Electronics and Circuit Theory, Electrical Power and Machines, Radiofrequency and Microwave Techniques, Communications and Instrumentation.

Research Interests

Spintronics, phonon coupling in Magnon-Spintronic systems, microwave design, radiofrequency sensing devices, thin film fabrication, NMR and NQR instrumentation, novel control of electrical machines, development of innovative wind-turbine technology; application of novel control techniques to separation devices for medical engineering; commercial applications of compact microwave sensors.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Dr Junjie Liu

Department: Physics

Academic position: Stipendiary Lecturer in Physics

Email: junjie.liu@physics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Giles Barr

Department: Physics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: giles.barr@physics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276035

Read more

Dr Chris Ballance

Department: Physics

Appointment: Senior Demy

Email: chris.ballance@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272122

Read more

Dr Alexy Karenowska

Department: Physics

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Officer: Widening Participation Fellow

Email: alexy.karenowska@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276000

Read more
Arzhang Ardavan

Professor Arzhang Ardavan

Department: Physics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Professor in Physics

Officer: Tutor for Undergraduate Admissions

Email: arzhang.ardavan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865-276005

Read more

Dr Dusan Radojicic

Department: Physics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: d.radojicic1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44-(0)1865-276000

Read more

Professor Constantin Coussios

Department: Engineering Science

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: constantin.coussios@eng.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617727

Read more

Professor Zhong You

Department: Engineering Science

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Dr George Milligan

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: george.milligan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Lucy Oswald

Department: Physics

Academic position: Fellowship by Examination

Email: lucy.oswald@physics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Andrew Turberfield

Department: Physics

Officer: SCR Health & Safety Committee Rep

Email: a.turberfield@physics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272359