Dr Stephen Goddard

Subject: Modern Languages

Department: Modern Languages

Academic position: Lecturer II in French

Research Interests

Stephen’s main research interests are in the field of the 19th-century French novel, especially Flaubert’s work. His doctoral thesis was on the influence of classical literature upon Flaubert, and he is working on adapting that thesis into various papers, articles and other publications. Stephen also has an interest in, and has lectured on, the reception of classical tragedy in 20th-century French drama.

Teaching

Stephen teaches French language (prose and unseen translation, grammar and essays) and French literature, especially in the modern period (approx 1715 onwards), but also covering all Oxford French prelims texts.

Department Staff

Read more

Dr Ole Hinz

Department: Modern Languages

Academic position: Lektor I in Modern Languages

Email: ole.hinz@jesus.ox.ac.uk

Read more

M. Geoffrey Derain

Academic position: Lecteur

Read more

Professor Raphaële Garrod

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Associate Professor in French

Email: raphaele.garrod@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Toby Garfitt

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: toby.garfitt@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Reidar Due

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: reidar.due@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Raymond Carlson

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Read more

Dr Angela Minini

Department: Italian

Academic position: Special Lecturer in Italian

Email: angela.minini@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Claudia Pazos Alonso

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Lecturer in Portuguese

Read more

Professor Juan-Carlos Conde

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages (Spanish)

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: juan-carlos.conde@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Nicola Gardini

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Lecturer in Italian

Read more

Dr Rosalind Temple

Department: Modern Languages

Academic position: Lecturer in Linguistics

Email: rosalind.temple@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Prof Simon Gilson

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Agnelli-Serena Professor of Italian Studies

Email: simon.gilson@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Alexandra Lloyd

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Academic position: Lecturer in German