Professor Toby Garfitt

Subject: Modern Languages

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

College appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Background

I did my undergraduate degree at Magdalen, where I was one of the first to take the new Joint School of Modern History and Modern Languages, graduating in 1973. A doctorate then followed, on Albert Camus’s teacher and mentor Jean Grenier. After four years teaching at the University of St Andrews, I returned to Magdalen as Fellow and Tutor in French in 1980. I was elected Emeritus Fellow at Magdalen in 2018.

Research Interests

20th/21st-century literature, including Gide, Camus, Grenier, Mauriac, Patrice de La Tour du Pin and other Catholic writers, Sylvie Germain, Andrei Makine, Francophone Literature

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Dr Angela Minini

Department: Italian

Academic position: Special Lecturer in Italian

Email: angela.minini@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rosalind Temple

Department: Modern Languages

Academic position: Lecturer in Linguistics

Email: rosalind.temple@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Stephen Goddard

Department: Modern Languages

Academic position: Lecturer II in French

Email: stephen.goddard@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Raphaële Garrod

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Associate Professor in French

Email: raphaele.garrod@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Reidar Due

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: reidar.due@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Ole Hinz

Department: Modern Languages

Academic position: Lektor I in Modern Languages

Email: ole.hinz@jesus.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Claudia Pazos Alonso

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Lecturer in Portuguese

Read more

Professor Juan-Carlos Conde

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages (Spanish)

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: juan-carlos.conde@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

M. Geoffrey Derain

Academic position: Lecteur

Read more

Prof Simon Gilson

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Agnelli-Serena Professor of Italian Studies

Email: simon.gilson@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Alexandra Lloyd

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Academic position: Lecturer in German

Read more

Dr Raymond Carlson

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Read more

Professor Nicola Gardini

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Lecturer in Italian