Dr Richard Allen

Department: Libraries and Archives

College appointment: Archivist and Records Manager

Role in College

Richard manages the college’s rich archives collections, not only cataloguing them, but also answering enquiries about them, from both inside and outside Magdalen, and promoting them more widely. He also oversees the arrival of new accessions to the archives, be it transfers from offices within the college, or gifts from former members and others. He heads the Archives staff within the Library and Archives team, overseeing the work of the Assistant Archivist and the Wilson Project Archivist.

Background

Prior to arriving at Magdalen, Richard was Archivist and Research Fellow at St Peter’s College, Oxford, and a Junior Research Fellow in Medieval History at St John’s College, Oxford. He has also held positions (both academic and otherwise) at the Université de Caen and the U.S. House of Representatives. He holds a PhD in History from the University of Glasgow and a PGDip in Archives and Records Management from University College London.

Richard is an Associate Member of the History Faculty, and continues to present and publish regularly on his chosen specialism, the ecclesiastical history of northern France (in particular Normandy) in the High Middle Ages. He is a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society and a Trustee of the Oxford Historical Society.

Research interests

Richard’s research concerns the ecclesiastical history of northern France in the High Middle Ages, with a particular focus on ducal Normandy (911–1204). He works primarily with charters and other such administrative records, and is particularly interested in what this material can reveal about the political, legal, economic and cultural circumstances of the societies in which it was produced. He has also published widely on topics ranging from ecclesiastical rivalry, through excommunication, the nature of episcopal power, the Cistercian abbey of Savigny, and the role of relics in the Middle Ages.

Recent publications

Department Staff

Read more

Sarah Cowen

Department: Human Resources

Appointment: HR Assistant (Academics)

Email: sarah.cowen@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 2610341

Read more

Mrs Louise Robson

Department: Tutorial Office

Appointment: Tutorial Administator

Email: louise.robson@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276064

Read more
Joanna Burnett

Joanna Burnett

Department: Bursary

Appointment: PA to the CFO & Bursar (Nick Brown) and the Financial Controller (Trish Pease)

Email: joanna.burnett@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276031

Read more

Mr Paul Cooley

Department: IT Office

Appointment: IT Manager

Email: computer.office@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 286685

Read more

Miss Limara Bertram

Appointment: PA to the President

Email: limara.bertram@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276101

Read more

Mrs Katie Taylor-O’Connor

Department: Deans' Office

Officer: Student Support Administrator

Email: katie.taylor-oconnor@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276021

Read more

Mr Salar Kashani

Department: Catering- Buttery and OKB

Appointment: Food & Beverage Services Manager

Email: buttery@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276018

Read more

Ms Hayley Coleman

Department: Conferences and Accommodation

Appointment: Conference & Accommodation Administrator

Email: conferences@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 287063

Read more

Mr Tim Dowdeswell

Department: Maintenance

Officer: Maintenance Foreman

Email: tim.dowdeswell@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276042

Read more

Ms Rachel Mehtar

Department: College Office

Appointment: Fellows' Administrator

Email: rachel.mehtar@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276060

Read more

Hera Atha

Department: Development Office

Appointment: Development Coordinator

Email: hera.atha@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)1865 276082

Read more

Mr David Murden

Department: Catering and Bar

Appointment: Head Chef

Email: kitchen@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276032

Read more

Llorens Llorca

Department: Catering – OKB Snack Bar

Appointment: Catering Assistant – OKB Snack Bar

Email: buttery@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276043

Read more

Madelon Rolleman

Department: Development Office

Appointment: Alumni Engagement Manager

Email: madelon.rolleman@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)1865 286682

Read more

Mr Alan Eyles

Department: Bursary

Appointment: Batells Clerk

Email: alan.eyles@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276023

Read more

Mr Karl Hoffmann

Department: Catering and Kitchen

Appointment: Deputy Head Chef

Email: kitchen@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276032

Read more

Dr Lucy Smith

Department: Libraries and Archives

Appointment: Wilson Project Archivist

Email: lucy.smith@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dinah Rose

Appointment: President

Read more

Holly Finn

Department: Dean's Office

Appointment: Student Support Administrator

Email: studentsupport@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: (01865) 276021

Read more

Mrs Laura Moor

Department: Development Office

Appointment: Development Manager

Email: laura.moor@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0) 1865 286658

Read more
Roberto

Mr Roberto Agostino

Department: Catering - WCR

Appointment: Deputy Butler

Email: butler@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276053

Read more

Mrs Denise Todd

Department: Catering Office

Appointment: Catering Administrator

Read more

Mr Louis Papper

Department: Catering- WCR

Appointment: Butler

Email: butler@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276053

Read more

Federica Sorrentino

Department: Catering- Buttery and OKB

Appointment: Food and Beverage Supervisor (Buttery, OKB and SCR)

Email: buttery@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276018

Read more

Ms Marjorie Young

Department: Human Resources

Officer: Human Resources Assistant

Email: marjorie.young@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276033

Read more

Helen Broxap

Department: Human Resources

Appointment: Interim Human Resources Manager

Email: helen.broxap@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276080

Read more

Mrs Celia Brown

Department: Home Bursary

Appointment: PA to the Home Bursar

Email: celia.brown@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276052

Read more

Helen Broxap

Department: Human Resources

Appointment: Interim Human Resources Manager

Email: helen.broxap@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276080

Read more

Ms Kathryn Peak

Department: Libraries and Archives

Appointment: Library Assistant

Email: kathryn.peak@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276045

Read more

Mrs Helen Taylor

Department: Bursary

Appointment: Assistant College Accountant

Email: helen.taylor@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276105

Read more

Netta Jennison

Appointment: College Mentor

Email: netta.jennison@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Chris Bellinger

Department: Home Bursary

Appointment: Business Systems Manager

Email: christopher.bellinger@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 610346

Read more

Joanna Jarocka

Department: Catering - WCR

Appointment: P/T SCR Catering Assistant

Email: butler@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276053

Read more
Scrumpy

Scrumpy

Department: Treats and walkies

Appointment: Dog

Read more

Nuala Marshall

Department: Outreach and Access

Appointment: Senior Outreach and Access Officer

Email: nuala.marshall@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276078

Read more

Ms Rosie Tombs

Department: Libraries and Archives

Appointment: Assistant Librarian

Email: rosie.tombs@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276045

Read more

Miss Liz Howdill

Department: Tutorial Office

Appointment: Academic Administrator

Email: liz.howdill@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276113

Read more

Miss Asta Eluva

Department: Catering- Buttery and OKB

Appointment: Food and Beverage Supervisor

Email: kitchen@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276018

Read more

Melanie Bennette

Department: Chapel and Choir Office

Appointment: Personal Assistant to the Informator Choristarum and Dean of Divinity

Email: choir@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 286701

Read more

Amy Forbes

Department: Outreach and Access

Appointment: Outreach and Access Officer

Email: amy.forbes@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Sarah Church

Department: Conferences and Accommodation

Appointment: Conference & Accommodation Manager

Email: conferences@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276051

Read more

Mrs Anna Busby

Department: Human Resources

Email: anna.busby@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276080

Read more

Mrs Anna Norman

Department: Development Office

Appointment: Deputy Director of Development and Head of Alumni Engagement

Email: anna.norman@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 610342

Read more

Ms Jane Eagan

Department: Oxford Conservation Consortium (OCC)

Appointment: Head of Conservation and Preservation, OCC

Email: jane.eagan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Robert Langley

Department: College Surveyor

Appointment: College Surveyor

Officer: College Surveyor

Email: robert.langley@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276024

Read more

Mrs Harsha Gibb

Department: Admissions Office

Officer: Admissions Office

Email: admissions@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276063

Read more

Martin Cornish

Department: Development Office

Appointment: Communications Manager

Email: martin.cornish@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 610343

Read more

Alejandro Gomez De Las Heras

Department: Catering - WCR

Appointment: SCR and Cellar Assistant

Email: butler@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276053

Read more

Balazs Salzinger

Department: Catering – OKB Snack Bar

Appointment: Food & Beverage Supervisor

Email: buttery@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276043

Read more

Mr Nick Jordan-Cooper

Department: Catering and Kitchen

Appointment: Deputy Head Chef

Email: kitchen@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276032

Read more

Chloé Beck

Department: Development Office

Appointment: Data and Analytics Manager

Email: chloe.beck@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)1865 286658

Read more

Ms Linda Norton

Department: Housekeeping

Officer: Steward

Email: linda.norton@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276006

Read more

Dr Lucy Gwynn

Department: Libraries and Archives

Appointment: College Librarian (currently on maternity leave)

Email: lucy.gwynn@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mrs Tina Bakardzhieva

Department: Bursary

Appointment: Accounts/HR

Email: tina.bakardzhieva@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276110

Read more

Mrs Sarah Fegan

Department: Bursary

Officer: Accounts clerk/Cashier

Email: sarah.fegan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276022

Read more

Ms Leanne Grainger

Department: Libraries and Archives

Appointment: Senior Assistant Librarian

Email: leanne.grainger@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276045

Read more

Mrs Penny Johnson

Department: Conferences and Accommodation

Officer: Conference and Accommodation Administrator

Email: conferences@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 287063

Read more

Ms Anne Chesher

Department: Libraries and Archives

Appointment: Acting College Librarian

Email: anne.chesher@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276057

Read more

Mr Robert Posarsek

Department: Porters' Lodge

Appointment: Deputy Head Porter