Professor Christopher Garland is awarded the 2009 JR Vane Medal

26 March 2009

Professor Chris Garland, Tutorial Fellow in Medicine and Physiological Sciences, has been awarded the 2009 JR Vane Medal by the British Pharmacological Society. The medal recognizes his outstanding work in cardiovascular and renal pharmacology, and is named after the eminent British pharmacologist,  Sir John Vane,

John Vane obtained his DPhil from Oxford, and went on to win the 1982 Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine for discovering the endogenous vasodilator prostacyclin, and that antiinflammatory compounds such as aspirin act by blocking the formation of prostaglandins and thromboxanes. The British Pharmacological Society was founded in Oxford in 1931, following a dinner at Wadham College.