Heinrich Wieland Prize 2015

15 September 2015

Professor Gero Miesenböck, Waynflete Professor of Physiology and Director of the Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour, will receive the Heinrich Wieland Prize 2015 in November for his conception and first experimental demonstration of optogenetics.

Named after the 1927 Chemistry Nobel Laureate Heinrich Wieland, the annual award recognises outstanding research on biologically active molecules and systems. It is among the most prestigious international science prizes awarded in Germany.

Further information can be found here.