Dr Stephen Ashcroft

Background

I was educated at Bolton School and then read Natural Sciences at Cambridge where I took the Natural Science Tripos in 1963 reading Biochemistry for Part II. After a short period in Switzerland I joined Philip Randle’s group in the newly formed Biochemistry department at the University of Bristol. Here I took my PhD and became a Lecturer in Biochemistry. In 1975 I moved to Oxford where I was appointed Lecturer in Clinical Biochemistry and Tutor in Biochemistry for Magdalen and Worcester Colleges. I was made Reader in Clinical Biochemistry in 1990 and retired in 2002. Since retirement I have been spending much of my time in my house on the island of Valen in Lake Hjälmaren in Sweden and indulging my interests in sailing, acting and playing jazz piano.

Research

My research has been into the mechanisms regulating the insulin production by the beta-cells of the islets of Langerhans. The main focus of these studies was to determine the link between a rise in blood glucose concentration and the consequent increase in synthesis and secretion of insulin. The major conclusions were that the sugar exerts its effects via changes in the rate of its metabolism by the cell and that these changes affect rates of insulin production as a consequence of alterations in the activity of specific ion channels in the beta-cell membrane. The relevance of these findings to human disease has become apparent in recent years.

Publications

Books:

Papers:

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Peter Sullivan

Department: Paediatrics

Email: peter.sullivan@paediatrics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 07825 335477

Read more

Professor Felix Budelmann

Department: Classics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: felix.budelmann@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276069

Read more

Dr Dusan Radojicic

Department: Physics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: d.radojicic1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44-(0)1865-276000

Read more

Dr David Roberts

Read more

Mr Bill Johnson

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Mr Mark Blandford-Baker

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: mark.blandford-baker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Toby Garfitt

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: toby.garfitt@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Hugh Dickinson

Email: hugh.dickinson@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Sheppard

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Dr Bojan Bujic

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: bojan.bujic@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Clive Holes

Department: Oriental Institute

Email: clive.holes@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Martin McLaughlin

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: martin.mclaughlin@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Christine Ferdinand

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: christine.ferdinand@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)1865 276057

Read more

Professor John Stein

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor Liam Dolan

Department: Botany

Email: liam.dolan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275147

Read more

Dr Michael Allingham

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: michael.allingham@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Robin Dunbar

Department: Experimental Psychology

Email: robin.dunbar@psy.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Oliver Taplin

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: oliver.taplin@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Elizabeth Fricker

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: lizzie.fricker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Andrea Boltho

Department: Department of Economics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Director of Oxford Economics

Email: andrea.boltho@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laurence Dreyfus

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor David Norbrook

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: david.norbrook@ell.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Lord Wood

Lord Wood of Anfield

Read more

Mr John Fuller

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: john.fuller@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865-556154

Read more

Dr Ralph Walker

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Officer: Wine Steward

Email: ralph.walker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276073

Read more

Professor Oege de Moor

Department: Computer Science

Email: oege.demoor@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Daniel Kroening

Read more

Professor Michael Goldacre

Department: Population Health

Email: michael.goldacre@dph.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 289377

Read more

Professor Laurence Brockliss

Department: Modern History

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurence.brockliss@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Bill Ives

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Organist and Informator Choristarum

Email: bill.ives@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01799 599 443

Read more

Professor Andrew Weller

Department: Chemistry

Email: andrew.weller@chem.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 286681

Read more

Professor Roger Heath-Brown FRS

Department: Mathematical Institute

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: rhb@maths.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 361821

Read more

Professor Colin Bain

Email: c.d.bain@durham.ac.uk

Tel: 0191 3342138

Read more

The Revd Dr Michael Piret

Email: michael.piret@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laurie Maguire

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurie.maguire@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276013

Read more

Dr George Milligan

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: george.milligan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Vernon Reynolds

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Anthropology

Email: vreynolds@btopenworld.com

Tel: 01323 871136

Read more

Prof Christopher Peacocke

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: cp2161@columbia.edu

Read more

Professor Juan-Carlos Conde

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages (Spanish)

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: juan-carlos.conde@magd.ox.ac.uk