Dr David Roberts

Background

I was educated at Newcastle Emlyn V.P. School and Hereford Cathedral School. After National Service I did my BA in Natural Sciences at Peterhouse Cambridge, followed by a Ph.D. in the Genetics Department, Cambridge, 1961-64. I had a Fulbright Scholarship to the McCollum Pratt Institute of The Johns Hopkins University. Baltimore. 1964-66. I was a lecturer in Genetics at Leeds University 1966-70 when I moved to the newly created Genetics Laboratory in Oxford where I remained until I retired in 2003. At the same time I was Fellow and Tutor in Biology and Human Sciences at Magdalen. I obtained an MA in Art History from the Open University in 2009.

Research interests

Most of my research in Genetics was carried out on the fruit fly Drosophila melanogaster. At the time of my retirement I was studying N-linked glycosylation of Drosophila proteins, and the role protein glycosylation played in the development. Since retiring I have carried out research on the late 15th-century Swedish church painter Albertus Pictor. My interest in Art History crystalized during my tenure as Vice President of Magdalen in 2003- 04 when I created a database of Magdalen’s pictures.

Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Prof Christopher Peacocke

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: cp2161@columbia.edu

Read more

Professor Clive Holes

Department: Oriental Institute

Email: clive.holes@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Ralph Walker

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Officer: Wine Steward

Email: ralph.walker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276073

Read more

Professor Hugh Dickinson

Email: hugh.dickinson@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laurence Dreyfus

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor Oege de Moor

Department: Computer Science

Email: oege.demoor@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Peter Sullivan

Department: Paediatrics

Email: peter.sullivan@paediatrics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 07825 335477

Read more

Mr Mark Blandford-Baker

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: mark.blandford-baker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr John Fuller

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: john.fuller@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865-556154

Read more
Lord Wood

Lord Wood of Anfield

Read more

Professor Toby Garfitt

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: toby.garfitt@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Oliver Taplin

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: oliver.taplin@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr George Milligan

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: george.milligan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Andrew Weller

Department: Chemistry

Email: andrew.weller@chem.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 286681

Read more

Dr Dusan Radojicic

Department: Physics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: d.radojicic1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44-(0)1865-276000

Read more

Professor Juan-Carlos Conde

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages (Spanish)

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: juan-carlos.conde@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Richard Sheppard

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Mr Bill Johnson

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor Laurence Brockliss

Department: Modern History

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurence.brockliss@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Michael Allingham

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: michael.allingham@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor David Norbrook

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: david.norbrook@ell.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Bojan Bujic

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: bojan.bujic@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Robin Dunbar

Department: Experimental Psychology

Email: robin.dunbar@psy.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Andrea Boltho

Department: Department of Economics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Director of Oxford Economics

Email: andrea.boltho@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Liam Dolan

Department: Botany

Email: liam.dolan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275147

Read more

Dr Stephen Ashcroft

Email: steve.ashcroft@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Roger Heath-Brown FRS

Department: Mathematical Institute

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: rhb@maths.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 361821

Read more

Dr Christine Ferdinand

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: christine.ferdinand@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)1865 276057

Read more

The Revd Dr Michael Piret

Email: michael.piret@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Felix Budelmann

Department: Classics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: felix.budelmann@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276069

Read more

Professor Vernon Reynolds

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Anthropology

Email: vreynolds@btopenworld.com

Tel: 01323 871136

Read more

Professor Colin Bain

Email: c.d.bain@durham.ac.uk

Tel: 0191 3342138

Read more

Professor Daniel Kroening

Read more

Professor Martin McLaughlin

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: martin.mclaughlin@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Elizabeth Fricker

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: lizzie.fricker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laurie Maguire

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurie.maguire@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276013

Read more

Professor John Stein

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor Michael Goldacre

Department: Population Health

Email: michael.goldacre@dph.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 289377

Read more

Dr Bill Ives

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Organist and Informator Choristarum

Email: bill.ives@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01799 599 443