Dr Bill Ives

College appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Organist and Informator Choristarum

Contact

Phone

01799 599 443

Websites

graystonives.com

Background

I was educated at King’s School, Ely, where I was a cathedral chorister. I won a Choral Exhibition to Selwyn College, Cambridge, where I took a BA in Music and a Cert. Ed. During that time I studied composition with Richard Rodney Bennett.

After Cambridge I divided my time as a schoolmaster at Reed’s School, Cobham, and a Lay Clerk in Guildford Cathedral Choir. During the summer holidays I directed the choir at the Edington Festival in Wiltshire. After a short period teaching at Chichester College of Further Education, I was invited to join the King’s Singers as their tenor, and I sang with them for eight years.

Magdalen College Choir

For eighteen years I directed the Choir of Magdalen College where I also taught Music. During my tenure the choir made several recordings on the Harmonia Mundi label, earning a Grammy nomination for a disc of music by Orlando Gibbons. In 2001 the choir gave the première of Paul McCartney’s Ecce Cor Meum (written especially for them), which was recorded on EMI and won Album of the Year at the 2007 Brit Awards. The choir also recorded film soundtracks (Shadowlands, Blue Planet, The Golden Compass) and toured Japan, America, France, Belgium and Hungary.

Compositions

Most of my compositions are of sacred choral music, but I enjoy writing and arranging in lighter styles. I have written music for several national occasions, including organ music for HM The Queen’s Silver Jubilee (1977), the Canterbury Te Deum for the Enthronement of The Archbishop of Canterbury (1991), and The Gift of Grace, commissioned in 2007 by Westminster Abbey for the National Service of Commemoration for the 200th anniversary of the Abolition of Slavery.

In 2008 my work as a composer and conductor of church music was recognised with the award of a Lambeth DMus and a Fellowship of the Royal School of Church Music.

In retirement I continue to write commissions and arrangements for a variety of choirs both at home and abroad.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more
Lord Wood

Lord Wood of Anfield

Read more

Professor Robin Dunbar

Department: Experimental Psychology

Email: robin.dunbar@psy.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Andrea Boltho

Department: Department of Economics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Director of Oxford Economics

Email: andrea.boltho@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Ralph Walker

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Officer: Wine Steward

Email: ralph.walker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276073

Read more

Professor Liam Dolan

Department: Botany

Email: liam.dolan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275147

Read more

Professor Toby Garfitt

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: toby.garfitt@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Felix Budelmann

Department: Classics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: felix.budelmann@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276069

Read more

Professor Juan-Carlos Conde

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages (Spanish)

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: juan-carlos.conde@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Clive Holes

Department: Oriental Institute

Email: clive.holes@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laurence Brockliss

Department: Modern History

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurence.brockliss@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Hugh Dickinson

Email: hugh.dickinson@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Daniel Kroening

Read more

Dr David Roberts

Read more

Professor Michael Goldacre

Department: Population Health

Email: michael.goldacre@dph.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 289377

Read more

Dr Dusan Radojicic

Department: Physics

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: d.radojicic1@physics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44-(0)1865-276000

Read more

Mr John Fuller

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: john.fuller@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865-556154

Read more

Professor Oliver Taplin

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: oliver.taplin@classics.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Laurie Maguire

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: laurie.maguire@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276013

Read more

Professor John Stein

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Dr Christine Ferdinand

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: christine.ferdinand@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)1865 276057

Read more

Professor Vernon Reynolds

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Academic position: Anthropology

Email: vreynolds@btopenworld.com

Tel: 01323 871136

Read more

Professor Colin Bain

Email: c.d.bain@durham.ac.uk

Tel: 0191 3342138

Read more

Professor Oege de Moor

Department: Computer Science

Email: oege.demoor@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Andrew Weller

Department: Chemistry

Email: andrew.weller@chem.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 286681

Read more

Professor Martin McLaughlin

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: martin.mclaughlin@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Stephen Ashcroft

Email: steve.ashcroft@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr George Milligan

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: george.milligan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Bill Johnson

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Dr Michael Allingham

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: michael.allingham@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Roger Heath-Brown FRS

Department: Mathematical Institute

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: rhb@maths.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 361821

Read more

Professor Laurence Dreyfus

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor Richard Sheppard

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Read more

Professor Peter Sullivan

Department: Paediatrics

Email: peter.sullivan@paediatrics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 07825 335477

Read more

Prof Christopher Peacocke

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: cp2161@columbia.edu

Read more

Dr Bojan Bujic

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: bojan.bujic@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

The Revd Dr Michael Piret

Email: michael.piret@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor David Norbrook

Academic position: Emeritus Fellow

Email: david.norbrook@ell.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Elizabeth Fricker

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: lizzie.fricker@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Mark Blandford-Baker

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: mark.blandford-baker@magd.ox.ac.uk