Mr Nick Brown

College appointment: Bursar

Officer: Data Protection

Contact

Background

Nick is a chartered accountant and joined Magdalen College as CFO and Bursar in January 2022, having been finance director of M&G Real Estate, the real estate arm of M&G plc, where he was aboard director and oversaw the finances of c. £35bn of real estate investments across the world. Previously, he held roles at the Wellcome Trust and spent his earlier career in professional practice. At EY Nick led the team providing due diligence on a wide range of capital markets and M&A projects, focused on real estate and natural resources. At KPMG, Nick was Head of Non-Financial Reporting, focused on ESG and holistic reporting of performance., having earlier delivered audits in the UK and spent two years in Hong Kong. Nick graduated in Civil Engineering from University of Birmingham and completed a post-graduate diploma in sustainability from University of Cambridge. Nick is a non-executive Director of Unimo Global, a startup seeking to transform the market for investment in growth companies such as university spinouts, and has served on the Finance Committee of the British Property Federation and ESG Committee of INREV, the European trade body for real estate funds for whom he has also chaired the team that produced new guidelines for the pricing of real estate investment funds.

Role in College

As CFO and Bursar, Nick’s primary responsibilities are to ensure the sound financial management of the College, principally budgeting and control of College expenditure, financial reporting, as well as safeguarding and optimising returns from the endowment. He plays an active role in the evolution of the College’s estate.

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Ben Green FRS

Department: Mathematical Institute

Appointment: Waynflete Professor of Pure Mathematics

Read more

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more
Arzhang Ardavan

Professor Arzhang Ardavan

Department: Physics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Professor in Physics

Officer: Tutor for Undergraduate Admissions

Email: arzhang.ardavan@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865-276005

Read more

Professor John Gregg

Department: Physics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: john.gregg@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44-(0)1865-276000

Read more

Mr Rory Maw

Academic position: Fellow by Special Election

Email: rory.maw@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Timothy Barraclough

Department: Zoology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Professor of Zoology

Officer: Garden Master

Read more

Professor Ofra Magidor

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Waynflete Professor of Metaphysical Philosophy

Email: ofra.magidor@philosophy.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 610351

Read more

Mr Alan Eustace

Department: Law

Academic position: Fixed-Term Fellowship by Special Election & Lectureship in Law

Read more

Professor Bernhard Salow

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow in Philosophy

Officer: Clerk to the College

Email: bernhard.salow@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

Professor David Gann CBE

Department: Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Development & External Affairs

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Professor of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, Saïd Business School

Email: david.gann@admin.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 280520

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Zhong You

Department: Engineering Science

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Dr Giles Masters

Department: Music

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Read more

Professor Paul Elbourne

Department: Philosophy

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow in Philosophy

Academic position: Professor of the Philosophy of Language

Officer: Clerk to the College

Email: paul.elbourne@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Laura Swift

Department: Classics

Academic position: Tutorial Fellow

Email: laura.swift@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Christian Leitmeir

Department: Music

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Associate Professor of Music

Officer: 01865 286793

Email: christian.leitmeir@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Alison Etheridge FRS

Department: Maths and Statistics

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: alison.etheridge@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 281244

Read more

Dr Yujia Qing

Department: Chemistry

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: yujia.qing@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Keru Cai

Department: Oriental Studies

Academic position: Fellowship by Examination in Oriental Studies

Email: keru.cai@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Farhan Nizami, C.B.E.

Department: History and Oriental Studies

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: farhan.nizami@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 278731

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Dr Signe Larsen

Department: Law

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: signe.larsen@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Avi Lifschitz

Department: History

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Associate Professor of History

Email: avi.lifschitz@history.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Samson Kambalu

Department: Fine Art

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor of Fine Art at Ruskin School of Art

Email: samson.kambalu@rsa.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +447841683907

Read more

Dr Alfonso Moreno

Department: Classics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Chair of Library and Archives Committee

Email: alfonso.moreno@classics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276014

Read more
Sean Rainey

Sean Rainey

Department: Development Office

Appointment: Development Director

Email: sean.rainey@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: +44 (0)1865 286796

Read more

Dr Alexy Karenowska

Department: Physics

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Officer: Widening Participation Fellow

Email: alexy.karenowska@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276000

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor David Clark, C.B.E.

Department: Experimental Psychology

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: david.clark@psy.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 281607

Read more

Professor Simon Horobin

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Senior Dean of Arts

Email: simon.horobin@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276090

Read more

Professor Jane Gingrich

Department: Politics and International Relations

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: jane.gingrich@politics.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Timothy Donohoe

Professor Timothy Donohoe

Department: Chemistry

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: timothy.donohoe@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275649

Read more

Professor Xin Lu

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Director of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research

Email: xin.lu@ludwig.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617507

Read more

Professor Katharine Grevling

Department: Law

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Professor Nicholas Stargardt

Department: History

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow, Vice President

Academic position: Professor of Modern European History

Email: nick.stargardt@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Constantin Coussios

Department: Engineering Science

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: constantin.coussios@eng.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617727

Read more

Professor Raphaële Garrod

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Associate Professor in French

Email: raphaele.garrod@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Stuart Mackenzie

Department: Chemistry

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Chair of Bursarial Committee

Email: stuart.mackenzie@chem.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 286794

Read more

Professor Andrew Smith

Department: Plant Sciences

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: andrew.smith@plants.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 275009

Read more

Dr Thomas Norman

Department: Economics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Tutor for Graduate Admissions

Email: thomas.norman@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276034

Read more

Dr Danfeng Wu

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Read more

Professor Jan Kristensen

Department: Mathematics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: jan.kristensen@maths.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 615123

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Giles Barr

Department: Physics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: giles.barr@physics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276035

Read more

Professor Andrew Turberfield

Department: Physics

Officer: SCR Health & Safety Committee Rep

Email: a.turberfield@physics.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272359

Read more

Professor Roderick Bagshaw

Department: Law

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow, Discipline Dean

Officer: Discipline Dean

Email: roderick.bagshaw@law.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276087

Read more

Professor John Nightingale

Department: Modern History

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Chattels Fellow

Read more

Professor Harvey Whitehouse

Department: Anthropology

Academic position: Professorial Fellow

Email: harvey.whitehouse@anthro.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Robert Douglas-Fairhurst

Department: English Language and Literature

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: robert.douglas-fairhurst@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Marcello Cattaneo

Department: English

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: marcello.cattaneo@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Jennifer Castle

Department: Economics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: jennifer.castle@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276067

Read more

Dr Daniel Robinson

Department: History

Appointment: Senior Demy

Email: daniel.robinson@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Mr Mark Williams

Department: Music

Appointment: Informator Choristarum, Organist & Tutorial Fellow

Email: mark.williams@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276007

Read more

Dr Michelle Pfeffer

Department: History

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: michelle.pfeffer@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Jeremias Prassl

Professor Jeremias Adams-Prassl

Department: Law

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Professor of Law

Officer: Dean of Degrees

Tel: +44 (0)1865 (2)76055

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Clare Harris FBA

Department: Anthropology and the Pitt Rivers Museum

Academic position: Tutorial Fellow

Email: clare.harris@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276077

Read more

Dr Mark Pobjoy

Department: Classics

Appointment: Official Fellow

Officer: Senior Tutor, Tutor for Graduates, Disability Lead Officer and Freedom of Information Officer

Email: mark.pobjoy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276000

Read more

Prof Simon Gilson

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Agnelli-Serena Professor of Italian Studies

Email: simon.gilson@mod-langs.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Paul Billingham

Department: Politics and International Relations

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Associate Professor of Political Theory

Email: paul.billingham@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276015

Read more

Dr Marco Santini

Department: Classics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Read more

Professor Laura Fortunato

Department: Anthropology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Tutor for Equality and Diversity

Read more

Professor Marilyn Booth

Department: Oriental Studies

Appointment: Khalid bin Abdullah Al Saud Professor in the Study of the Contemporary Arab World

Academic position: Professor and Director of Research, Faculty of Oriental Studies

Email: marilyn.booth@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 278208

Read more

Dr Reidar Due

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: reidar.due@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rachel Wheatley

Department: Biological Sciences

Academic position: George Grosvenor Freeman Fellow by Examination

Email: rachel.wheatley@biology.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Siân Pooley

Department: History

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: Associate Professor

Officer: Tutor for Equality and Diversity

Email: sian.pooley@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: (+44) 1865 610350

Read more

Professor Martin R Bridson FRS

Department: Mathematics

Academic position: Whitehead Professor of Pure Mathematics and President of the Clay Mathematics Institute

Email: bridson@maths.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 273528

Read more

Professor Robin Cleveland

Department: Engineering Science

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Website Officer, Access Fellow

Email: robin.cleveland@eng.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276026

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow, Welfare Dean

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Professor Julien Berestycki

Department: Statistics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Academic position: University Lecturership in Probability and Statistics

Email: julien.berestycki@stats.ox.ac.uk

Tel: (+44) 1865 281 881

Read more

Dr Raymond Carlson

Department: Medieval and Modern Languages

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Professor Lucy Bowes

Department: Experimental Psychology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: lucy.bowes@psy.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276085/271322

Read more

Dr Anthony Shillito

Department: Earth Sciences

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: anthony.shillito@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Rahul Santhanam

Department: Computer Science

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: rahul.santhanam@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

The Rev’d Dr Andrew Bowyer

Appointment: Dean of Divinity

Officer: Tutor for Equality and Diversity

Email: andrew.bowyer@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Lucy Oswald

Department: Physics

Academic position: Fellowship by Examination

Email: lucy.oswald@physics.ox.ac.uk