Dr Haram Park

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Contact

Background

Dr. Haram Park is a neuroscientist whose research focuses on how innate behaviour is expressed and how it is changed within the context of neuropsychiatric diseases. He received his PhD at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), where he studied how autism spectrum disorder (ASD)-related behaviours are manifested in different genetic models, as well as how disruption of molecular interactions across the synapse leads to disruptions in innate behaviours. Haram joined Prof. Gero Miesenböck’s lab in Oxford as a Postdoctoral Researcher in October 2019 and Magdalen College in March 2020 as a Fellow by Examination. He has held an EMBO Postdoctoral Fellowship since July 2020.

Research

Haram’s current research focuses on recent breakthroughs in the Miesenböck lab that revealed how the ‘need to sleep’ is tracked in the brain. His aim is to take the findings further to understand the details of sleep homeostasis in the brain.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Dr Gijs van Boxel

Department: Medicine

Email: gijs.vanboxel@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more
Professor Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Rachel Wheatley

Department: Biological Sciences

Academic position: George Grosvenor Freeman Fellow by Examination

Email: rachel.wheatley@biology.ox.ac.uk