Dr Gijs van Boxel

Subject: Medicine and Biomedical Science

Department: Medicine

Dr Gijs van Boxel gained his primary medical degree at the University of Oxford and completed his specialist training in Oesophagogastric Surgery within the Thames Valley region. He subsequently developed an interest in robotic-assisted surgery and spent a year in a high volume robotic surgery unit in Utrecht. He was awarded numerous awards including the Royal College of Surgeons (RCS) Cutler’s Fellowship, the European Society of Surgical Oncology Major Training Fellowship, the RCS Ronald Raven Barber’s Award and the Dowager Countess Eleanor Peel Trust award. He was appointed to a substantive oesophagogastric consultant post in Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust, one of the highest volume robotic cancer surgery centres in the UK.

Dr van Boxel has an extensive research background. His PhD focused on mitochondrial function, which was followed by a Post-doctoral Fellowship at the Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics dedicated to the structure/ function relationship of T-cell receptors and immune complexes. During his clinical work, Dr van Boxel has developed a research interest in Robotic Surgery, Translational Research in General Surgery and Oesophagogastric Surgery, Clinical Service Development, Health Economics and Surgical Innovation.

Selected Publications

Department Staff

Read more

The Revd Professor Robert Gilbert

Department: Biochemistry and Medicine

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Officer: Dean for Welfare

Email: robert.gilbert@magd.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 276070

Read more

Professor Quentin Sattentau

Department: Pathology

Appointment: Emeritus Fellow

Email: quentin.sattentau@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Adrian Hill, Kt.

Department: Medicine

Email: adrian.hill@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 617611

Read more
Professor Chris Garland

Professor Chris Garland

Department: Pharmacology

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Read more

Dr Dominic Alonzi

Department: Biochemistry

Email: dominic.alonzi@bioch.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Stephen Goodwin

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Tutorial Fellow

Email: stephen.goodwin@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 272454

Read more

Dr Rebecca Shakir

Department: Medicine

Academic position: Sherrington Lecturer

Email: rebecca.shakir@ndph.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Haram Park

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Academic position: Fellow by Examination

Email: haram.park@dpag.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Dr Maheshi Ramasamy

Department: Paediatrics

Appointment: Florey Lecturer and Fellow by Special Election

Academic position: Associate Professor

Email: maheshi.ramasamy@magd.ox.ac.uk

Read more

Professor Gero Miesenböck

Department: Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Email: gero.miesenboeck@cncb.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 282261

Read more
Sir Peter Ratcliffe Oxford

Professor Sir Peter Ratcliffe

Department: Nuffield Department of Medicine

Appointment: Fellow by Special Election

Email: peter.ratcliffe@ndm.ox.ac.uk

Tel: 01865 612680

Read more

Professor Richard Cornall

Department: Medicine

Appointment: Professorial Fellow

Academic position: Nuffield Professor of Medicine, Head of Department

Email: richard.cornall@ndm.ox.ac.uk